Do More of What Makes You Happy :)


I’ve decided this will be my new motto, and I’m going to take it seriously.
People who say life’s short are wrong, it’s the longest thing you’ll ever do… Even more reason to be happy doing it!

That being said:

I’ll be doing a lot more running 🙂

Ok, time to get serious!
With my half marathon only 8 weeks away, I decided it was time to start taking my training seriously. I want to improve my time, even if it’s only by a few minutes, and in order to do that, I need to improve my training. I already know that I can run the distance, but I would like to run it confidently and a little faster than before. My previous half marathon time was 2:35:34. I would LOVE to make it around 2:15… with that being said, I have completely nixed the whole 3:1 run/walk out of my training… I can’t even remember the last time I did it. I have started running until I can’t run anymore, walking until my heart rate slows back down a bit, and then kickin’ it again. It’s been going well, my time and endurance is improving.

Now, for the sake of honesty, let me tell you what REALLY made my amp up my training. Tom and Anji and I went out to the white water center to do a 15k last weekend, part of the Riverbound Race Series, and I could only finish about 3.3 miles of it before we had to call it quits and head back to the car, tail between my legs. I hadn’t trained or fueled properly, and that was devastatingly apparent by my lack of endurance… Not to mention I was super dehydrated, which hurts!

Everyone knows how much I love to take pictures… Well, this race was so disappointing that this is the only photographic evidence I have from that day…

This is how I felt going into the 15k, I knew I wasn’t ready, and attempted it anyway… Which I’m proud of that fact, but where was that DAMNED CLOWN?!

So… I’ve been eating healthier, and back to vegetarian, after a weak moment where I may or may not have had bacon hanging from my mouth… Who’s to say?  I learned a valuable lesson from that race debacle, which is- what I eat directly effects how I run… and running is super important to me, so eating must become super important to me. If I can’t have the discipline to hydrate well during the week, then I don’t deserve to have good runs. And if I forget to eat breakfast before a 15k, then how do I ever intend on finishing one? Now… I’m not punishing myself, or living in the past. I’m learning from my mistakes and taking it as a lesson learned. And it was an important one. Take care of yourself!!!

Vegetarian bfast wrap- Egg whites, spinach and feta cheese (cutting back on dairy and eggs shortly too tho) and coffee, not a latte. 🙂 Not bad.

Shitaki Maki- which turned out to have an awesomely sweet flavoring to it, and I was super happy even tho there was no raw fish in it!

Mozzarella Tofu… Not quite as healthy, but a girl gets to cheat on a Friday night after a long week of training, right?!

Chia and Chives chips with spinach and artichoke dip and quinoa salad… and of course my new favorite sidekick- 1.5liters of electrolyte water 🙂

Sarah and I have been hitting the MCAC fairly regularly for some swim/cross training… It feels great to be in the pool, and even better to feel like I’m improving in the water. We’ve put together some good workouts (and also gotten some great help from my swim coach- COACH NICOLE) and we’re slowly building up to swimming a mile. (Sounds daunting still!)

This swim workout was a little over 1/2 a mile, and took Sarah and I about 45 minutes to complete… I was pretty proud. One day, I’ll be able to keep up with Sarah- she’s a speed demon in the pool! (And a great motivator, I must say.)

I’m totally in love with the pool… I wish I could go every day!

I’ve been adding a little discipline to my runs, not just running running running… Here’s an example of one of my treadmill workouts:

It’s pretty intense, and I hate it… and sometimes have to modify, but I’m getting better, and it’s making my regular runs easier, I can feel it 🙂

Improving each time 🙂

So, lastly, this past Sunday was a big day for me… In terms of accomplishment. I have been training really hard ever since the botched 15k, and I won’t bore you with all the details… (if we’re friends on facebook, twitter or instagram, you already get the gist of it:)) But Sunday, a few things happened, that don’t normally…
First, Tom and I had made tentative plans to do my long run together Sunday morning. However, Saturday, Tom ran a 50k race and woke up a little stiff, understandably so. (Cause he’s a beast!) I was still planning on getting out there, but while trying to rework my plans to not include Thomas, I fell back asleep. When I woke up again, it was almost 9:30am (OMG, way too hot start a long run! 97 degrees already!) But I forced myself out of bed, put on some short shorts and a tank and hit the road.

Too hot for my usual running garb.

I was planning on running my usual 3.8 mile route twice, and then just circling the apartment complex for the last 1/2 mile. I got about 3/4 of a mile in and decided to start taking some detours. I took all the little side streets off my usual route. Mostly because I was dreading having to do this loop twice in the heat. The side streets got me down into the shade a bit, and luckily some sweet neighbors were running their sprinklers, and I was running IN their sprinklers. Team work! 🙂

About 4.5 miles in, my calves started cramping a bit, I ran out of water, and I started feeling pretty hungry… I decided, even though I really wanted to just knock it all out, that I would head back home, get some ice cold water eat a bit and head up to the gym to finish out the last 2.6 miles on the treadmill in the AC. Turned out to be a great decision, at the very least, for my health.

I did get the whole 8 miles in, and next week, my plan is to start earlier in the morning and be done before it gets that hot.

After I stretched and rolled out my legs at the gym, I hung out with Sarah, got some lunch and then headed over to Yoga One to meet Justine and Kelly for a 90 min hot yoga class. All said and done, I took about a 60 min hot yoga class, and a 30 minute super sweaty hot nap in child’s pose.

Glaring sun and dripping sweat- sexy and I know it… LOL

I’ll go from top to bottom: 1.) eating my cheating ice cream after my 2.) veggie wrap and fruit. 3.) the 2.6 miles I had to finish up after my 4.) 5.4 mile run outside 5.) drive into uptown to the gym 6.) sweaty sweaty 7.) my new kicks, more to come 8.) soooooo hot, right after a quick sprint through a sprinkler AND 9.) hydration- round 2. I drank A LOT of water yesterday…

It just looks hot in there…

And the whole night was followed up with a sleepy time adventure with my compression socks. I’m pretty happy with that decision today 🙂

Just kickin’ it 🙂

Ok, so… Most exciting part of the week: I got new Scotts! MK4s and I love love love them.

The new ones are the middle left picture. I’ve never owned so many running shoes in my life 🙂 I’m loving it!

So that’s about it… I’m sure there’s more that I’ve left out. And it wouldn’t be so hard to remember it I would actually update this thing on a regular basis… New goal. Update on regular basis. There, taken care of. 😉

Now… GO RUN!

