Vegetarianism, 4th of July and Kettlebells… Oh My!


As promised, not such a long interlude between posts this time…

Been super busy and super lazy at the same time… How does that happen?! Takes a lot of practice and skills, I must tell you. And guys love girls with skills. (That’s a Napoleon Dynamite reference, get over it :))

I’ve been trying my hand (ALMOST 100% successfully) at being a vegetarian for the past few weeks… Mostly for health/nutrition reasons, and I want to try to figure out my tummy troubles before I venture back to big mileage races.

I had this fairly decent veggie wrap at Starbucks, egg whites, spinach and feta cheese. A totally doable breakfast for a girl who hates breakfast.

I also had a successful shopping trip, sans Jules, my usual grocery shopping partner, and was delighted to find that everything I got was yum-a-licious 🙂 Maybe I CAN grocery shop alone without buying only candies and juice…

I had dinner the other evening with my lovely and wonderful mentor of sorts, the one and only FUN ERIN (I’m sure she’ll blush at being referred to as such ;)) at probably one of my new most favoritest places: Zada Jane’s

Look, we even had fancy candles on the table 🙂

Whodda thunk a mushroom sammich would be so tasty? And sweet potato chunks, sounds yuck, makes mouth go yummmmmmm 🙂

I broke down and went back to my old love… for a brief encounter… I tried the baby versions 🙂

And they were so thrilled to be back together again 🙂
It will have to be a once a week kind of thing, as I didn’t realize how much I was missing my old flame(s), what with all the healthy green and black teas and such

I finished an amazing book recently… One that I suggest anyone wanting to veggie and/or who loves running read, as it is honest, intriguing and enlightening on so many levels. I love a good book that will make you think. Not to mention, Scott Jurek is probably one of the greatest ultrarunners… ever.

Eat & Run, right along with my new favorite smoothie:
2 large fresh strawberries
4 smaller frozen strawberries
4 tablespoons of pure hemp protein powder
1 tablespoon of honey
fill with Dark Chocolate Almond Milk
blend to perfect, filling yumminess 🙂

I went for a surprisingly tiring “aqua jog” and some laps with two of bestest lady friends, Sarah and Tiffany 🙂 I’m not really 100% sure what I would do without these ladies in my life (Of course, along with Coach Nicole, they are slowly but surely changing my life for the better, each and every day :))

A little #one2tri action going on at the MCAC

For the 4th of July, I– OBVIOUSLY– painted my nails for the occasion, and celebrated just as you would expect anyone to celebrate America– with Chinese food with one of my bestest buddies 🙂

I think anchors have a lot to do with the 4th of July, so you can stop judging me 🙂

As I usually am. If I stop sulking, I can usually realize that I am probably one of the luckiest people I know… I just don’t always take the time to stop and smell the proverbial roses 🙂 sometimes a girl just needs a quiet reminder from a little cookie.

With a little extra free time on my hands the past couple of days, I got to spend some quality time with the lovely and always beautiful Beth, and OF COURSE, the amazing, most perfect baby Quinn. We also got a couple of really good workouts in at the YMCA– with kettlebells, the new bane of my existence. No joking. But did you know, the YMCA has a Starbucks… inside 🙂 yay!

I think Quinny Quinn is mocking my happy face 🙂

Enjoying some delicious ice coffee in the sweltering sun, post workout 🙂

And last but not least, I finally got a library card… I’m officially… a dork? I don’t know. But I was pretty stoked 😀

That’s Captain Dork to you

As for running. I’ve hit a wall of sorts. I’m still running, more than usual, with all the aforementioned free time on my hands, sometimes twice a day. And maybe that’s the problem… But I’m not really enjoying it anymore. Maybe I’m getting better, but still sticking to the same ol same ol, and boring myself. I don’t know. What I do know, is when I think about it… Really think about it. I look at running almost as an entity. An entity to which I owe a lot of my happiness, certainly my health, and having found myself over the past year… So I feel like quitting, or even taking a break would be like cheating on the love of my life. Or not showing gratitude for something that saved my life, in a multitude of ways. So, for now, I am pushing through the wall, continuing my training, and as usual, sweating a lot.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Now go run!

