Volunteering, Racing and Basically Changing my Whole LIFE :)


I know, I know, I know!

I’m terrible about posting. There is a fine line between daily posts, which I don’t think I’m ready for, nor do I have the content or following for, and monthly posts, which turn in to long rambling posts or worse- short nothing posts with lots of pictures.

I’m going to try to find a happy medium for this one, and then be better about posting on a slightly more regular basis. πŸ™‚

Sarah and I “volunteered” at yet another Β triathlon- Tri Latta at Latta Plantation. A huge group of the One2Tri Racing team and #iamone2tri athletes participated, so when I say volunteer, I mean we went and hung out and cheered on our teammates and hung out with Tom. The race itself was pretty exciting. Our last triathlon experience was INCREDIBLY mundane, considering we were out on a road, directing traffic for the bike course, nowhere near the main action. We got to see people twice- when they passed on their way out, and then on their way back in… BORING! (It was really only exciting when TJ- our Group Exercise Director and bud- passed us:))
Tri Latta was very exciting. We watched pretty much ever wave go out for the swim, and saw quite a few of them on their way back in. Then we moved up to the main event πŸ™‚ We literally had the best seats in the house… We got to see the cyclists leave and come back, and if we turned around, we got to see the runners on their way out AND back as well. The HUB, if you will.
All in all, we had a pretty excellent morning and got to cheer on some really talented athletes.

Coach Nicole and the #iamone2tri training athletes. Inspiring athletes and they all did amazing on their Tri!

Sarah, Tiffany, me and Nicole-
We love to support our teammates!
And Nicole did a leg of the race- and she killed it!

we kinda followed Tom around lost puppies all morning, which is why we had such an awesome view of everything going on- seasoned runner that he is πŸ™‚

I started swim lessons with Coach Nicole πŸ™‚ Which is beastly, as I haven’t swam competitively since I was… ever. πŸ™‚ I was on the swim team when I was little, as were all my brothers. I THOUGHT I was a really good swimmer… Because my brother would wait at the end of my lane and give me his blue ribbons that he had just won. Ha!

Getting ready for my first swim lesson with Coach Nicole πŸ™‚ She said I was a little fishy… with sassy pants on πŸ˜‰ OF COURSE!

Sarah and I did the Carolina Cares 5k the next weekend… my first experience with a less organized race. My second experience with the trails at McAlpine Creek Parkway… Neither were my favorite things… There were no timing chips, so there’s really no way to know how well we did or didn’t do. Also, it was HOT, again, and I keep getting yucky belly cramps about a mile into a race. I still love it, but I’m getting frustrated. Will discuss more on that briefly… πŸ˜‰

Gettin’ ready to head out for the race… This is before we knew exactly what we were in for πŸ™‚

I’m not Mandy… or Anne… but let’s do the damn thing!
This should have been an indicator of the lack of organization to come πŸ˜‰

The next weekend, I ran the Summer Breeze 5k, part of the Run for Your Life Grand Prix.
The race itself was a pretty good course, and it was the first race I had run where the women and men had staggered start times, so it was awesome that I got to see the first male finishers because I was already done.
This was also going to be the first race I ran all ALONE! And not even with anyone there really that I knew… Lo and behold- my lovely bestie Tiff showed up to surprise me and cheer me on πŸ™‚ Pretty much made my day, and when those cramps came on in mile 2 and I wanted to lay down in the grass for a nappy nap, with no one pacing me, it seemed like a good idea… except I knew Tiff was at the finish line, waiting for me πŸ™‚

Surprise! Tiffany! Totally made my morning πŸ™‚

After the race, I went over to Tiffany’s to make some signage for TJ- who completed the Syracuse 70.3 half ironman this weekend, because he’s a BEAST πŸ™‚

This is what we sent him the night before, cause we’re total dorks, but we sure do love us some TJ πŸ™‚

and the next day because WE ARE SO PROUD OF HIM !!!!

The next morning, I decided to take myself out for another little run… and came home for this:

Totally thought I was getting shin splints again, but the pain was only on the down hills… and seems to have gone away now…CUPCAKE shaped ice cubes make everything better πŸ™‚

I’m working on changing my diet around…
All this exercise and I would still really like to lose about 30ish more pounds.
I’m pretty happy with where I am now… But to be healthy, I could stand to lose the extra 30, over the next year or so, hopefully.
So, diet wise…
I went with my vegetarian (and fellow running) friend, Jules, to Earthfare and bought some basics. And have officially been off the meat for 8 days now. Not eating meat really hasn’t been much of an issue for me, since I wasn’t a huge meat eater to begin with. It’s trying to eliminate all the other junky bad stuff I put in my body that’s rough.

Like replacing this:

YUM!!!!!

With this:

Ho Hum…
(it’s actually not that bad)

Ok ok ok… I think I’ve gone on long enough…

OH WAIT!

I am pretty excited about my upcoming race schedule. SO, that’s what I will leave you with πŸ™‚

July 3: Firecracker 5k
July 21: Riverbound Race Series 15k
September 29: Ramblin’ Rose half marathon 13.1
October 6: Susan G. Komen race for the cure 5k
October 20: Hero Rush 5k obstacle course
November 17: COLOR RUN 5K!!!!
December 6: Kiawah Island FULL marathon 26.2 *insert nervous/terrified face here*

Yay!

Thanks for reading- now start running!

