Who’s a Slacker?


That would be me…

I’ve had every intention of posting a new blog… for about the last three weeks.

Since the Elizabeth 8k, a lot has happened. I’ll be brief… Maybe.

The next weekend (4/28) was the CPCC Skyline 5k. Surprisingly enough, my first 5k.
Tiffany and Tom also ran.
Tiffany got herself a nice little PR (sub 25:00, because she is a BEAST!)
Tom ran with me as my pacer.
All would have been well, had I actually been well… I was still (slowly) recovering from the flu, or some other tummy bug. I texted Tom in the morning and told him I was thinking about not running it, since I still wasn’t feel great. Tom’s reply: I’d still run it.
Good… get up and put your shoes on and get out the door.
Only had to stop a few times to get my heart rate back down, and actually had a faster pace than I’ve had in any previous race. Also, at Tom’s recommendation, we set a modest goal of 35:00, since it was my first 5k, and I wasn’t feeling great. I finished in 32:48
Finishing better than my goal was well worth an upset tummy πŸ™‚

Tiffany, Tom and I- post race

Image

Tom and I- pre race

Image

Tiffany and I- post race πŸ™‚

Image

Overall, it was a good day. I got to do yet another race with Tiffany πŸ™‚ and I got to run my first race with Tom :):):)

The weekend following the Skyline run was another 5k
Clean Air Carolina 5k- trail run.
This one was rough!
Race day started a little later than usual and it was a really warm day. Not to mention, it was another trail run, which I am learning to like for the change of scenery, but not so much when it’s 85 degrees at the start.
Tiffany and Nicole were also running this race. Tiffany was there to run with me, which I am so grateful for, because this one was so hot, that I might not have finished without her encouragement.
That’s something that’s a littleΒ bafflingΒ to me, that I could run the half marathon and didn’t want to quit, but 5ks kick my ass…
I was aiming for a PR, but finished at 35:08… Not great, 8 seconds past my goal, and certainly not a PR. All factors considered though, it wasn’t a bad finish. It was hot, it was a trail run, and I was still slowly but surely recovering from the previous weeks’ flu.
It was a really fun day and the finish festival was one of the better ones so far. Again, if it hadn’t been so hot, I might’ve stuck around for a while longer.

Nicole, Me and Tiff- pre race- Matching CAC ladies πŸ™‚ representing!

Image

Girl look at that body! I-I-I-I I workout!

Image

Post race πŸ™‚ Iceeeeeees!!!

Image

OMG… 5/12- I actually did not participate in a race…
But Sarah and I drove up to Lake Norman to volunteer for the Jetton Park Triathlon, and support our buddy/co-worker TJ. Sarah and I were on the bike course and miss Tiff was a course monitor for the swim πŸ™‚

Volunteer ladies- pre race and still sleepy…

Image

Sarah and me at our post πŸ™‚

Image

And of COURSE- with TJ πŸ™‚ placed 11th overall and 1st in his age group… what a boss! πŸ™‚

Image

Back to racing… I felt weird taking a week off, after doing 5 weekends of races in a row…
So this weekend, I suckered Sarah into riding up the US National Whitewater Center for a 10k trail run.
It was brutal.
Good weather, good spirits, good company. We had a lot of fun (I think…) but I was again disappointed with my time, as I was hoping for a trail run 10k PR. I missed it by several minutes, finishing at 1:15:32 with a twisted ankle and very sore knees. But it was a good day.
Sad- it was my very first race ever without Tiffany being there in some way shape or form, either as a pacer, running it herself or volunteering, but we’ll allow it, since she was at her brother’s wedding… πŸ™‚
Sarah is a good running partner, she just does what I do πŸ™‚
Tom and Nicole are also both out of town, so I was really nervous going into the race, with none of my usual support there, but it all turned out just fine πŸ™‚
I met my 3 race goals of finishing, not finishing last, and not getting hurt (very badly)
We took a lot of pictures… I’ll try to use some restraint:

Good Morning Pic- Let’s get going! (yes, I do know there is a grammatical error on the pic. I’m ok with that because 1. I didn’t make it and 2. it’s freaking adorable.

Image

Pre-race: someone is really excited… *hint, it’s not me πŸ˜‰

Image

All smiles getting ready to run

Image

Post race- grumpy about the number and severity of hills… Mitchell is a liar πŸ˜‰

Image

At least someone’s smiling πŸ™‚

Image

Post race shot- Whitewater Center in the background

Image

Β 

And then we went and had a little fun in Uptown πŸ™‚ Dinner at Dandelion and Alvin Aliey Ballet Company at Knight Theater… Pretty good Saturday

Image

Β 

That’s it for now…

Gonna make a real effort to update in between races, so I don’t have to do three race updates in the future…

Β 

RUN FAST ❀

